Never underestimate the effect of hormones

Yes, I am still in the land of the living and feeling pretty good.  I have no doubt that the massive hormone fluctuations involved in IVF by their very nature make the whole process so much harder to cope with.  Back in ‘normal hormone land’ I am fairly philosophical about yet another failure.  I know that for me, the time is coming to call it quits.  But it’s not here just yet.  There are funding changes on the horizon here for IVF so it may well be to my benefit to squeeze in another attempt before the end of the year but I’m really starting to doubt that IVF can do anything for me at the current level of expertise available.  Unless I end up with multiple embryos I’m not getting that ‘best egg’ selection.  I suspect, that for me injectibles are the way to go.

So I wait out this cycle and will be interested to know what is in store.  At the moment I’m just enjoying the good old waking follicle twinges I’m getting as my poor old ovary cranks out just one egg this cycle.

As always, I’ll keep you posted.

One response to this post.

  1. It can be hard to gear up for what seems like another attempt at failure, but the threat of lost funding can be hard to ignore. I’m sure you’ve researched the poor-responder protocols, and I haven’t read enough of your story to even know much about your specifics, but us oldies do have to insist on some fairly heavy-duty regimes.

    But your ovary is probably thrilled to be left alone with it’s one egg this month – nice to get a break from the hormone craziness, too!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

